cricket20 :: India face South Africa in group stages
t20 World Cup News
India face South Africa in group stages

Dethroned Twenty20 World Champions India have been placed alongside South Africa and a qualifier team in Group C for the next year's third edition of the tournament to be played in the West Indies.

Holders Pakistan are in the Group A where they will have to ward off the challenges from Bangladesh and Australia to advance in the event starting April 30, according to the 2010 World Twenty20 Match schedule announced by the International Cricket Council today.

Runners up Sri Lanka constitute the Group C with New Zealand and Zimbabwe while the hosts West Indies, England and a second qualifying team will comprise the Group D.

The West Indies will play the second qualifying team in the opening match of the biennial event, which is being staged next year immediately after its 2009 England edition to prevent its clash with the 2011 ODI World Cup in the subcontinent.

India, who were knocked out in the Super Eight stage of the second edition, are lined up to play the first qualifiers in their opener, slated on May 1, which will be the second day of the 17-day tournament.

The tournament will feature as many as 27 matches with the semi-finals being played on May 13 and 14 and final slated on May 16.

For the simultaneously played women's event, teams have been divided into two groups, 'A' and 'B'.

Semi-finallists India are in Group B with New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan while England, Australia, the West Indies and South Africa make the Group A.

All first round matches of the women's world cup will be played in St Kitts, the ICC statement said.

The women's tournament, which will feature 15 matches including semi-finals and the final, start on May 5 with the West Indies eves taking on their South African counterparts.

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan will face off on May 8. The women's semi-finals and final will be played on the same days as that of men's.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB