cricket20 :: Lee included in Australian Twenty20 squad
t20 World Cup News
Lee included in Australian Twenty20 squad

Fast bowler Brett Lee will return to international cricket with Australia after enduring a frustrating year out of the game with an ongoing elbow injury.

The 33 year old, who retired from test cricket to prolong his international career was included in the Aussies 15 man squad which was announced today for next months Twenty20 World Cup in the West Indies.

Although Lee has only played one game this year Andrew Hilditch, chairman of selectors was happy to include Lee in the Squad.

"While Brett Lee hasn’t played the amount of cricket we would’ve liked him to in preparation for this World Cup, at his best he is one of the best Twenty20 cricketers in the world," said Hilditch.

"He also has the opportunity of continuing to play in the IPL as preparation for this tournament," he added.

"We’ve been preparing hard for this tournament since the last event and we’re pleased with the squad’s performance in recent games, under the captaincy of Michael Clarke."

"The squad has a good mix of experience and exciting young talent and is capable, at its best, of playing competitive and entertaining Twenty20 cricket."

"Dan Christian had limited opportunities in the lead-up to this selection but we see him an exciting Twenty20 cricketer with his all-round skills with bat and ball. Ryan Harris is extremely unlucky to miss selection given his strong performances in all forms of the game in recent times for Australia."

"Travis Birt is also unlucky to miss selection. He also had limited opportunity leading up to selection but we’ve gone with Mike Hussey who brings great international experience and is in fantastic form in all formats of the game right now."

"We’ve also added Tim Paine to give us cover in case of injury to Brad Haddin and of course, Tim’s ability with the bat, which saw him have a great KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, more than warrants his selection."

Australia’s squad - David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (capt), Cameron White, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Tim Paine, Steven Smith, Daniel Christian, Brad Haddin (wk), Brett Lee, Dirk Nannes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Hauritz, Shaun Tait.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB