cricket20 :: Kiwis win the toss, elect to bowl first
t20 World Cup News
Kiwis win the toss, elect to bowl first

New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori has won the toss and decided to bowl first against Zimbabwe at the Providence Stadium in a make or break Group B game for both teams.

Victory for New Zealand will guarantee them a place in the Super Eight’s while Zimbabwe has to win heavily to stand any chance of getting through.

Vettori was pleased with his team’s performance against Sri Lanka and as such they go into today’s game with the same line up.

"I am just going to bowl. We saw rain coming in yesterday. It's still a must-win game for us. I was pretty pleased with the all-round effort in the last game. No changes," said Vettori at the toss.

Zimbabwe skipper Prosper Utseya was confident about his teams chances, they are going to aim for a total of 150 and put the pressure on the Kiwis.

New Zealand team - BB McCullum, JD Ryder, MJ Guptill, LRPL Taylor, SB Styris, GJ Hopkins†, JDP Oram, DL Vettori*, NL McCullum, SE Bond, TG Southee.

Zimbabwe team - AM Blignaut, H Masakadza, T Taibu†, CR Ervine, E Chigumbura, CK Coventry, GA Lamb, AG Cremer, P Utseya*, RW Price, T Maruma.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB