cricket20 :: Kiwis bat first against stumbling champions
t20 World Cup News
Kiwis bat first against stumbling champions

New Zealand skipper Ross Taylor has won the toss and elected to bat first against England in their make or break clash against England at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Both teams come into the game knowing a defeat will all but end their chances of reaching the t20 World Cup semi-finals after suffering defeats in their opening Super Eights matches.

The pressure will be especially great on the defending champions after two really poor performances with the bat against India and the West Indies; another collapse will probably see their title defence come to an end with a whimper.

The Kiwis are without Jacob Oram who is missing because of illness, Doug Bracewell takes his place while England have brought in Tim Bresnan and Danny Briggs.

England team - C Kieswetter†, AD Hales, LJ Wright, EJG Morgan, JM Bairstow, JC Buttler, TT Bresnan, SCJ Broad*, GP Swann, DR Briggs, ST Finn.

New Zealand team - MJ Guptill, JEC Franklin, BB McCullum†, LRPL Taylor*, RJ Nicol, DL Vettori, DAJ Bracewell, KS Williamson, NL McCullum, TG Southee, KD Mills.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB