cricket20 :: Taylor wins the toss and elects to bowl first
t20 World Cup News
Taylor wins the toss and elects to bowl first

New Zealand skipper Ross Taylor has won the toss and elected to bowl first in their make or break game against the West Indies at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Both teams will be looking to seal victory this afternoon and then hope hosts Sri Lanka beat the defending champions England later on this evening to give them any chance of qualifying.

The Kiwis can sneak through if there is a three way tie with the West Indies and England on two points because of a better run rate while the West Indies will qualify with four points if they beat the Kiwi’s and England lose.

A victory for either side coupled with an England victory will see the victor of this afternoon’s game along with the loser eliminated from the t20 World Cup in the Super Eights.

The Kiwis will be without Daniel Vettori who misses out through injury as does Kane Williamson, there is better news though with the return of Jacob Oram from injury.

The West Indies have brought Samuel Badree and Darren Bravo into their line up to replace Fidel Edwards and Dwayne Bravo.

New Zealand team - MJ Guptill, RJ Nicol, BB McCullum†, LRPL Taylor*, JEC Franklin, JDP Oram, DAJ Bracewell, RM Hira, NL McCullum, TG Southee, KD Mills.

West Indies team - J Charles, CH Gayle, DM Bravo, MN Samuels, KA Pollard, AD Russell, D Ramdin†, DJG Sammy*, SP Narine, R Rampaul, S Badree.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB