Series Home|Latest News|Qualifies|Fixtures|Standings|Squads|Venues|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|England 09|South Africa 07
2007 Twenty20 World Cup

The inaugural Twenty20 World Cup took place in South Africa during September 2007. With the rapid rise of Twenty20 cricket around the world the first official World Cup took place just 4 years after the first Twenty20 game was played in England.

The favorites going into the event were Australia, the current ODI World Champions. Despite suffering a shock 5 wicket defeat against Zimbabwe in their opening game the Aussie's regrouped and reached the semi finals before losing by 15 runs to India.

The final played in Johannesburg pitted two old foes in a thrilling final. India claimed the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup after beating Pakistan by 5 runs.

Warm Up Games | Fixtures | Super Eights | Group Stages | Statistics
Jayawardene stands down after Windies defeat
Sammy full of praise for all conquering heroes
Calypso kings crowned t20 World Cup champs
West Indies big guns silenced by Sri Lanka
West Indies bat first in the t20 World Cup final
Sri Lanka geared up for biggest ever day
West Indies out to spoil Sri Lankan party
Woeful Aussies blown away by the West Indies
Gayle force Chris gives the Windies the edge
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB