t20 World Cup History
West Indies 2010

The third edition of the Twenty20 World Cup took place in the West Indies during April and May 2010. The event was watched by millions from around the world.

The hosts got the tournament off to a great start thanks to a 70 run victory over Ireland. Although the West Indies excited the tournament after a disappointing Super Eights the whole event was still branded a major success by the ICC.

The final was played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados and saw England win their first ever ICC trophy thanks to a thrilling seven wicket victory over their old rivals, Australia.

Warm Up Games | Fixtures | Super Eights | Group Stages | Statistics

England 2009

The second Twenty20 World Cup took place in England in June 2009. The event was now seen as the ICC's biggest International tournement with millions watching around the world.

The event got off to a perfect start at Lords as the Netherlands beat England by 4 wickets in spectacular match which stunned the cricketing world. England would go onto qualify for the Super Eights but the Netherlands victory would go down in history.

The final was played at Lords and saw the 2007 runners up Pakistan take on Sri Lanka. Pakistan made no mistakes the second time round winning by 8 wickets.

Warm Up Games | Fixtures | Super Eights | Group Stages | Statistics

South Africa 2007

The inaugural Twenty20 World Cup took place in South Africa during September 2007. With the rapid rise of Twenty20 cricket around the world the first official World Cup took place just 4 years after the first Twenty20 game was played in England.

The favorites going into the event were Australia, the current ODI World Champions. Despite suffering a shock 5 wicket defeat against Zimbabwe in their opening game the Aussie's regrouped and reached the semi finals before losing by 15 runs to India.

The final played in Johannesburg pitted two old foes in a thrilling final. India claimed the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup after beating Pakistan by 5 runs.

Warm Up Games | Fixtures | Super Eights | Group Stages | Statistics
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB