Sabres collapse hands victory to the Foxes

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

The Somerset Sabres suffered their third straight Friends Life t20 Final defeat after a dramatic middle order collapse handed the Leicestershire Foxes a thrilling 18 run victory at Edgbaston.

Seen by many as an outsider the Foxes upset the form book to seal their third t20 title and their first since 2006 to give veteran wicket keeper Paul Nixon the perfect send off in his last ever game for the county.

Having lost their previous two final appearances against the Hampshire Royals (2010) and the Sussex Sharks (2009), the Sabres looked on course to seal their second title before they lost four wickets in the space of 13 deliveries.

Marcus Trescothick (16) and Craig Kieswetter (17) got the Sabres run chase off to a positive start before the Sabres skipper was dismissed by Matthew Hoggard in the 5th over.

Kieswetter quickly followed before Peter Trego (35) and James Hildreth (20) built a 3rd wicket stand of 42 to put the Sabres in control before Joshua Cobb struck which his 4th delivery to remove Hildreth in the 13th over.

With the pressure mounting, Nixon pulled off a stunning one handed catch to remove big hitting West Indian Kieron Pollard who edge a delivery from Wayne White to leave the Sabres 89-4.

Trego, Arul Suppiah (0) and Jos Buttler (12) quickly followed as the Sabres suffered a massive collapse to hand the advantage to the Foxes who took control of the game after they had been restricted themselves to a total of 145-6.

Having opened the batting throughout the group stages, Andrew McDonald (14) slipped down the batting line up and with James Taylor (18) and Cobb (18) miss firing a third title seemed a distance hope.

With a reshuffled batting line up the Foxes struggled to get going despite cameo innings from Will Jefferson (35) and Abdul Razzaq (33) to leave the Sabres facing a run chase of 146.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB