Sixers upset the odds to see off the Hurricanes

Harjit Mehat | cricket20

The Sydney Sixers set up a clash with the Perth Scorches in next weekends KFC Big Bash Final thanks to an impressive seven run victory against the Hobart Hurricanes at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

On the back of a strong bowling performance the Sixers hung on to claim a place in the t20 Champions League despite a cameo from Naved-ul-Hasan (30) who threatened to steal the victory for the home side.

Having seen his side slump to 113-7, Naved-ul-Hasan smashed two boundaries and two sixes to leave the game in the balance with the Hurricanes needing just 18 runs from the final over.

Faced with a victory target of 154 the Hurricanes never really got their run chase going as they were unable to build any potential match winning partnerships with wickets falling at regular intervals.

Phil Jaques (63) lead the way but with no support coming from Jonathan Wells (11), Travis Birt (11) and Owais Shah (0) the top order failed to fire for almost the first time in the tournament.

With the pressure mounting Steven Smith (2-22) struck twice in the 17th over to remove Jaques and Matt Johnston (6) and despite Naved-ul-Hasan’s cameo the visitors held on to secure their place in the final.

Having won the toss the Sixers decided to bat first and despite the loss of Moises Henriques (0) in the opening over they posted a total of 153-6 thanks to a half century from Nic Maddinson.

Maddinson smashed 68 runs which included eight boundaries to give the Sixers bowlers a defendable total with support coming from Steve O’Keefe during a 2nd wicket stand of 59.

Ben Rohrer (16) and Peter Nevill (14) added vital runs down the order to leave the Hurricanes facing a run chase of 154 to seal their place in the final against the Scorches next weekend at the WACA.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB