Aussie spinners blow away disappointing India

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Australia continued their dominance over India thanks to a comprehensive 31 run victory in the first ever t20 International at Stadium Australia to go 1-0 up in their two game t20 series.

A record crowd of 59,659 watched on as Australia’s spin attack tore through India’s top order after the visitors had been set a victory target of 172 thanks to a maiden t20 international half century Matthew Wade.

David Hussey (2-4) and Brad Hogg (1-21) lead the way to reduce India to just 53-4 after Brett Lee () picked up the wicket of Virender Sehwag (4) with just the 3rd delivery of their run chase.

MS Dhoni offered some resistant’s but a captain’s innings of ** wasn’t enough to help India finally record a victory on a tour which gets bad to worse for the Indians.

Australia’s victory was set up by Wade who smashed five boundaries and three sixes in just his third t20 International to end the innings as the Aussies top scorer with 72 runs after he was bowled by Suresh Raina in the 16th over.

Big hitting opener David Warner got the innings off to the perfect start thanks to a quick fire 25 which included two massive sixes before a rain shower halted play half way through the innings.

David Hussey (40), Travis Brit (17) and new skipper George Bailey (12) added support to help the home side post a competitive total of 171-4.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB