Record breaking Levi leads Proteas to victory

Harjit Mehat | cricket20

Richard Levi scored the fastest ever t20 International century to help South Africa cruise to an eight wicket victory over New Zealand to level their 3 game series after Leviís fireworks at Seddon Park.

It was a night of records for Levi (118) who smashed a t20 International record 13 sixes to record the highest ever t20 International score to help the Proteas chase down the Kiwis total of 173-4 with four overs to spare.

The opener needed just 45 deliveries to record the sixth ever t20 International century, beating the previous record which was shared by Chris Gayle and Brendon McCullum by five deliveries.

Despite picking up the early wickets of Hashim Amla (2) and Wayne Parnell (4), the Kiwis were never in the running thanks to Leviís stunning display of power hitting which the Kiwi bowlers had no answer too.

Nobody was spared mercy with Doug Bracwell (0-37), Tim Southee (0-40), Rob Nicol (0-10) and Kyle Mills (0-26) all conceding over 10 runs an over with Bracwell costing the Kiwis 37 runs from his two overs.

AB de Villiers (39) watched on from the non strikers end as Levi lead the South Africanís to victory to set up a winner takes all clash at Eden Park in Auckland on Wednesday.

Having won the opener game with ease the Kiwis came into the match full of confidence but a despite a promising innings with the bat the hosts were unable to handle the explosive Levi.

Martin Guptill lead the way for New Zealand posting a total of 47 but despite good starts from McCullum (35), Kane Williamson (28) and James Franklin (28) nobody was able to push on to score a big total.

Franklin enjoyed a cameo which saw him smash four sixes during the closing stages of the innings to help the Kiwiís record a total of 173-4 but it proved to be in vain thanks to a destructive performance by Levi.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ďECBĒ).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB