Hussey and Sani lead Kings XI to nervous victory

Aaron Moores | cricket20

David Hussey and Nitin Sani helped the Kings XI Punjab cruise to a nervous four wicket victory over the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Sani lead the way with a well deserved half century during a third wicket stand of 73 with Hussey (45) as the pair helped the Kings XI chase down the Royal Challengers total of 158-5 with 1 ball to spare.

The Kings XI looked in complete control with 12 runs needed from 18 balls but Hussey, Azhar Mahmood (1) and Abhishek Nayar (2) needlessly ran themselves out as the game went down to the final over with the visitors needing five more runs.

With the pressure mounting Piyush Chawla (6) and Paras Dogra (3) helpd their nerve to help the Kings XI escape with a victory after they had almost thrown the game away in the closing stages.

The victory moves the Kings XI up into fourth place as their excellent run of form continues as they strengthen their hopes of securing a place in the knock out stages of the tournament.

The home side meanwhile slipped to their fifth defeat after another abject performance which saw them post a below par total after they had reached 126-1 in the 16th over.

Chris Gayle (71) produced another stunning innings which included six boundaries and four sixes but once the bit hitting West Indian was dismissed in the 16th over by Azhar Mahmood (3-20) things started to go wring for the home side.

Virat Kholi (45) and AB de Villiers (17) quickly followed as the Royal Challengers lost four wickets during the closing stages to leave the Kings XI facing a run chase of just 159.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB