Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

The Chennai Super Kings remain on course to claim their third straight IPL title thanks to a crushing 86 run victory over a disappointingly poor Delhi DareDevils in a one sided qualifier at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The victory set’s up a clash with the Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday night after the defending champions booked their place in the final for a fourth time in five years.

Murali Vijay (113) lead the way with a fantastic century which included fifthteen boundaries and four sixes to help the Super Kings post a mammoth total of 222-5 after they were put into bat by Virender Sehwag.

Dwayne Bravo (33), Suresh Raina (27) and MS Dhoni (23) offered Vijay support as they took the game away from the DareDevils who decided to leave out Morne Morkel, the leading wicket taker in the group stages and replace him with off spinner Sunny Gupta.

The decision proved to back fire as Gupta (0-47) who was playing in his first ever IPL match conceded 47 runs from just 18 deliveries as he was smashed out of the attack by a rampant Vijay.

Warun Aaron (2-63) faired no better as he conceded an IPL record 63 runs from his four overs to leave the DareDevils facing a mammoth 223 run victory target to seal an unlikely place in the final.

Unsurprisingly it proved to be a target to big for the group stages winners to chase down one they lost David Warner (3) and Sehwag (1) in the opening four overs to leave them 22-2.

Mahela Jayawardene (55) offered some resistant’s with a well deserved half century but with wickets falling at regular intervals the DareDevils crashed out of the tournament in embarrassing style after they were restricted to a total of just 136.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB