Ireland bat first in closely matched encounter

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Ireland skipper William Porterfield has won the toss and elected to bat first against Australia in their opening t20 World Cup group match at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Two years ago an Ireland victory would have been regarded as a shock but with the Aussies ranked 9th in the world, 10th place Ireland have every chance of starting the tournament with victory against an ailing giant.

Australia escaped the shame of coming into the tournament ranked lower then Ireland after denying Pakistan a 3-0 series white wash in their recent warm up series but the Aussies know defeat today will increase the pressure on a under performing side.

Australia team - DA Warner, SR Watson, MEK Hussey, GJ Bailey*, CL White, GJ Maxwell, MS Wade†, DT Christian, GB Hogg, PJ Cummins, MA Starc.

Ireland team - WTS Porterfield*, PR Stirling, EC Joyce, NJ O'Brien, GC Wilson†, KJ O'Brien, AR Cusack, DT Johnston, NG Jones, GH Dockrell, WB Rankin.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB