Mangal wins the toss; Afghanistan bat first

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Afghanistan skipper Nawroz Mangal has won the toss and elected to bat first against India in their opening t20 World Cup group match at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The minnows will be looking to cause a major upset with victory against the 2011 World Cup Champions but India will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing defat against Pakistan in their final warm up match.

The pre-tournament favourites will be looking to avoid a upset against an associate side in Afghanistan who are getting stronger and stronger as they gain more experience on the world stage.

Afghanistan team - Karim Sadiq, Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Shahzad†, Nawroz Mangal*, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiqullah, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbodin Naib, Samiullah Shenwari, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran.

India team - G Gambhir, V Sehwag, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, MS Dhoni*†, RG Sharma, IK Pathan, R Ashwin, Z Khan, L Balaji.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB