Sri Lanka seal place in t20 World Cup final

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Sri Lanka became the first ever host to seal a place in the t20 World Cup final after they secured a tense 16 run victory over Pakistan at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Having set Pakistan a victory target of 140 Sri Lanka bowled superbly on a slow turning wicket to restrict Pakistan to a total of just 123-7 to set up a clash against Australia or the West Indies on Sunday evening.

Mohammad Hafeez (42) and Umar Akmal (29) offered Pakistan some hope but with wickets falling at regular intervals the Pakistanis were unable to chase down Sri Lanka’s total on a slow turning wicket which proved difficult to bat on.

Rangana Herath (3-25) and Angelo Matthews (2-27) led the way for the hosts to spark wild celebration in the crowd as Sri Lanka secured their place in the t20 World Cup on Sunday evening after recording a total of 139-4.

Jayawardene smashed seven boundaries during his 36 ball innings before he was dismissed by Shahid Afridi (1-28) in the 11th over to end his 63 run opening stand with Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Dilshan (35) and Kumar Sangakkara () added a quick fire 21 in the space of two overs before Sangakkara was dismissed by Mohammad Hafeez (1-12) in the 13th over.

Despite the loss Dilshan and Jeevan Mendis (15) ensured Pakistan would face a tricky run chase on a turning wicket which suited the likes of Ajantha Mendis and Rangana Herath.

Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB