Text Edition
Top Stories

The India stars will have to play

Some of country’s biggest names, including captain Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly, chose to stay away from inaugural phase of the Twenty20 tournament, but all India players will be advised to participate in the later stages.

National Chairman of Selectors Dilip Vengsarkar, who was at the Wankhede to watch the inaugural day’s action opined that if a team advances to the knock-out stage of the tournament, then all senior players will have to make themselves available for selection.

Mumbai rested Wasim Jaffer and Ramesh Powar for the first leg of the tournament, while Tendulkar, Ajit Agarkar and Zaheer Khan, who came back following India’s premature exit at the World Cup, also didn’t feature.

Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Munaf Patel and Ganguly also didn’t feature in the Twenty20 games on Tuesday. “I will speak to the other selectors and the team management, but ideally all India players must participate in the latter stages of the tournament,” Vengsarkar said.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India stated that it was the prerogative of the state associations to decide who should be rested and played during the Zonal phase of the tournament.

East Zone national selector Ranjib Biswal will request Sourav Ganguly to take part in the final round of the Twenty-20 event as the BCCI wants a blend of youth and experience for the Twenty-20 World Cup in Sout Africa.

"India will field a strong side for the event and a lot of youngsters will get a look in before the team for SA is picked. We want a perfect blend of youth and experience. But if the big names chose to ignore the domestic Twenty-20 meet, it will be difficult for us to form the team. There should be some basis for us to pick the best possible combination,’’ Biswal said.

“I will personally request Sourav Ganguly to play the remaining matches of the East Zone meet. If not, he should definitely play in the national meet,’’ he said.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup