Text Edition
Top Stories

Tamil Nadu upset the odds to enter top ten

Tamil Nadu, winners of the first ever Inter State Twenty20 Cup lead the charge of Indian domestic teams up the Bartercard Power Rankings.

The Inter State Twenty20 Cup was added to the fixtures list half way through the season but thanks to India's shock exit from the Group Stages of the World Cup some of crickets biggest stars took part.

Despite facing players with vast international experience like Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly Tamil Nadu upset the odds and won the tournament with no star players. They enter the Bartercard Power Rankings inside the top ten 7th place, defeated finalists the Punjab lead by Yuvraj Singh find themselves in 18th place.

Mumbai lead by Tendulkar enter the chart in 40th place followed closely by Jharkhand (44th), Bengal (46th), Karnataka (47th) and Rajasthan (48th), no over India sides made it into the top 50.

With no games involving the top 5 the Victorian Bushrangers, winners of back to back KFC Big Bash titles remain at the top of the rankings for a fourth month, the Sialkot Stallions remain in second place followed by the Surrey Brown Caps (3rd), Leicestershire Foxes (4th) and Somerset Sabres (5th).

In 6th place are the Karachi Dolphins followed closely by Tamil Nadu, the Lahore Lions (8th) and Sri Lankas Chilaw Marians CC (9th).

The top ten is rounded out by another Pakistani team, the Faisalabad Wolves, winners of the 2005 ABN-AMRO Twenty20 Cup.

92 teams from England, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India have all been rated and included in the Bartercard Power Rankings.

The ratings are based on a number of important factors including runs scored, totals chased the loss of wickets and margins of victory. A teams rating is then worked out by dividing the points scored in each game by the number of matches played, the totals are then given to the nearest whole number.

To view the full Bartcard Power Rankings click here

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup