Text Edition
Top Stories

Black Caps call for Elliott

South Africa-born all-rounder Grant Elliott has been named in New Zealand's preliminary 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in September.

Wellington right-hander Elliott, currently on tour with New Zealand A in Australia, could now be in line to return to his native country for the inaugural competition having completed a three-year qualifying period.

Stephen Fleming, who resigned as limited-overs captain following the Black Caps' World Cup elimination, is retained.

Seamers Kyle Mills and Daryl Tuffey have been omitted as they bid to recover from injuries which curtailed their 2006/07 seasons.

"The selectors did not consider Kyle after medical advice. He is not yet ready to return to playing, and has had no cricket for five months," said New Zealand Cricket's selection manager Sir Richard Hadlee.

"After the numerous injury problems he has had, the selectors would like to see Daryl Tuffey play some competitive cricket before being considered for the Black Caps again.

"Daryl has opted to play club cricket in Sydney under the guidance of Steve Rixon during late September and October."

The selection panel will reconvene on August 11 to determine the tour squad.

The panel includes coach John Bracewell, indicating he may remain in the position after his current contract expires at the end of this month.

The Black Caps have been placed in Group C for the first round of the tournament. They play Kenya in Durban on September 12, and Sri Lanka in Johannesburg three days later.

Preliminary squad: Andre Adams (Auckland), Shane Bond (Canterbury), Neil Broom (Otago), Grant Elliott, Stephen Fleming, James Franklin (all Wellington), Peter Fulton (Canterbury), Mark Gillespie (Wellington), Chris Harris (Canterbury), Paul Hitchcock (Auckland), Gareth Hopkins (both Auckland), Jamie How (Central Districts), James Marshall (Northern Districts), Chris Martin (Auckland), Michael Mason (Central Districts), Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum (both Otago), Peter McGlashan (Northern Districts), Craig McMillan (Canterbury), James McMillan (Otago), Warren McSkimming (Otago), Iain O'Brien (Wellington), Jacob Oram (Central Districts), Jeetan Patel (Wellington), Aaron Redmond, Bradley Scott (both Otago), Scott Styris (Auckland), Ross Taylor (Central Districts), Daniel Vettori (Northern Districts), Lou Vincent (Auckland).

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup