Text Edition
Top Stories

Ambani set to take on Mallya in IPL

The wait is over, after days of speculation over the perspective bidders for the ownership of the teams in the BCCI’s mega venture the Indian Premier League, the results were finally out on Thursday.

The ownership for the Mumbai team has been handed over to the Reliance Group chairman Mukesh Ambani, while the maverick tycoon Vijay Mallya who also has a presence in the Formula One circuit, gets the ownership of the Bangalore team.

Bollywood too makes its presence felt in the IPL in a big way. The reigning superstar of the Bollywood Shah Rukh Khan’s company, Red Chillies Entertainment has been given the charge of the Kolkata team, to be christened as Shah Rukh XI, while actress Preity Zinta, along with her beau Ness Wadia, get the Mohali/Chandigarh team.

Pulishing house Deccan Chronicle and GMR’s Saanchi Sports get the Hyderabad and the Delhi teams respectively. India Cements have bagged the Chennai team, while Emerging Media, a consortium of UK based investors get the Jaipur team.

The IPL council, headed by BCCI vice president announced the above winning bids to the media.

The base price for the bids was USD 50 million.

Meanwhile, Indian stars Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman and Sourav Ganguly along with retired Australian cricketers Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath are expected to be attract the highest price tags among the 79 players who have been roped in by the IPL . The Twenty20 tournament scheduled to commence from April 18 will be played out at different centres in the country.

The players` bids are to be held next month and a top BCCI source said that even non- contracted (to BCCI) Indian players have been guaranteed a minimum of USD 15,000 by the IPL.

**** Breaking News ****
Click here for all the latest IPL franchise news
**** Breaking News ****

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup