Text Edition
Top Stories

Sehwag wins toss and elects to bat

Delhi Daredevils' captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and decided to bat first against the Kings XI Punjab in their Indian Premier League match at the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium.

A huge monkey off their back after the win against Deccan Chargers, the born-again Delhi Daredevils would be gunning for a revenge when they collide head-on with the high-flying Kings XI Punjab in a potential Indian Premier League humdinger on Saturday.

The fortnight-long nightmare, featuring four defeats on the trot, finally ended in Kotla last night and Virender Sehwag and his fellow Daredevils managed to snap the losing streak to keep alive their semi-final hopes.

The passage, however, is no more as smooth as it was at the start of this month. Being pushed to the brink often simplifies things and the revenge-driven hosts would be looking forward to settle scores when they host Yuvraj Singh's Kings XI at Ferozeshah Kotla.

The hosts have won half of the 10 matches they have played so far, which places them fifth with 10 points, while the Kings XI sit pretty on the second spot with 12 points, garnered from their six wins in nine matches. Sehwag, however, insisted that every team is in for a lean patch.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Capt), Rajat Bhatia, AB de Villiers, Shikhar Dhawan, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Gautam Gambhir, Brett Geeves, Dinesh Karthik, Glenn McGrath, Farveez Maharoof, V Yo Mahesh, Mithun Manhas, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Asif, Pradeep Sangwan, Shoaib Malik, Mayank Tehlan, Manoj Tiwary.

Kings XI Punjab: Yuvraj Singh (Capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Ajitesh Argal, Piyush Chawla, Gagandeep Singh, Karan Goel, James Hopes, Uday Kaul, Sahil Kukreja, Shaun Marsh, Irfan Pathan, Luke Pomersbach, Kumar Sangakkara, S Sreesanth, Tanmay Srivastava.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup