Text Edition
Top Stories

Foxes end campaign with victory

Leicestershire Foxes made it two home wins in a row with a 23-run victory over Derbyshire Phantoms at Grace Road but it was not enough to prevent them finishing bottom of the Twenty20 Cup north group.

James Allenby was again the star of the show for the Foxes scoring his second half-century of the competition and then following it up with his second five-wicket haul.

Allenby hit an unbeaten 50 off 31 balls in the Foxes' total of 145 for five and then ripped through the Derbyshire batting claiming five for 27 as the Phantoms were bowled out for 126 in 19.2 overs.

But it was all too little too late for Leicestershire who left themselves with no hope at all of reaching the quarter finals after losing their first seven games.

But at least they won a battle for East Midlands pride against their local rivals in some style after being put into bat.

Boeta Dippenaar and Jacques du Toit gave them their best start so far with an opening stand of 63 in nine overs before du Toit skied a catch to midwicket having made 25 off 22 balls.

Dippenaar was out to the next ball off the bowling but Jonathan Clare brilliantly stumped down the leg side by James Pipe for 35.

The Foxes slipped to 89 for four but Allenby's excellent innings that included three sixes and three fours pulled them out of trouble with Tom New joining him in a stand of 50 in 34 balls for the fifth wicket.

It allowed the Foxes to post a competitive total and although Derbyshire made a good start scoring 45 without loss in the first six overs they then collapsed in the gathering gloom.

Dominic Telo top scored with 33 for them before chopping a delivery from Nadeem Malik back into his stumps and then Allenby came on to run through the middle order and the tail.

Having taken four wickets in four balls against Lancashire earlier in the competition he had the chance of another hat-trick taking two wickets in two balls in his final over but was denied by Nyan Doshi.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup