Text Edition
Top Stories

BCCI launch Champions T20 League

Despite the ICC's concerns, the BCCI is going ahead with their much trumpeted Champions League.

The Board revealed that its flagship club tournament will be called the Champions Twenty20 League.

But even after a long meeting in Mumbai on Wednesday, no progress has been made on the dispute with the ECB about the participation of their two teams, which means only six teams have been confirmed: the top two from India (from the IPL), South Africa and Australia.

The ECB's participation hangs in the balance as they insist on fielding a team that includes ICL players.

The tournament will be played at three venues in India between September 29 and October 8.

The total prize money has been increased from $5 million to $6 million. The eight teams will be divided in to two groups and a total of 15 matches will be played.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup