Text Edition
Top Stories

Modi appointed Twenty20 chairman

Indian Premier League commissioner and BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi was on Friday appointed as chairman of the board of Champions League Twenty20.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the three founding member boards -- the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Cricket Australia (CA) and Cricket South Africa (CSA)-- in Dubai.

Eight teams, winners and runners-up from the domestic Twenty20 competitions in India, Australia and South Africa, plus the winners of 2008 Twenty20 championships (to be held in October 2008) from Pakistan, and the Twenty20 Cup champions from England, Middlesex, have been invited to compete in the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 to be held from December 3 to 10 this year.

The second edition of the tournament will be contested by 12 teams between September 25 and October 10 next year.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup