Text Edition
Top Stories

Hayden axed from Twenty20 squad

Struggling opener Matthew Hayden has been omitted from Australia's squads for the Twenty20 and one-day international series against South Africa.

Hayden's international playing future has been under a cloud and the 37-year-old averaged just 19.5 with the bat during the Test series won 2-1 by the Proteas.

Australia's selectors have instead cast their eyes towards this year's World Twenty20 and the 2011 World Cup, promoting exciting young NSW batsman David Warner and Queensland's Ryan Harris to international level.

One-day vice captain Michael Clarke will be rested ffrom the two Twenty20 matches - on Sunday at the MCG and Tuesday at the Gabba - as he recovers from a ligament injury to his right thumb which has required pain-killing injections.

Paceman Mitchell Johnson's heavy workload means he will sit out the Twenty20 fixtures as well as the opening two one-day games.

South Australian speedster Shaun Tait returns to both squads after a spate of injuries and a self-imposed rest after suffering burnout.

"The announcement of these squads ... is a clear indication we are now in full-scale planning for the 2009 World Twenty20 and the 2011 World Cup," chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said.

"Winning a fourth consecutive World Cup and our first Twenty20 title is an ambitious project.

"For this reason there will be very few players selected from this point that we can not see playing a role in achieving this goal.

"The omission of Matthew Hayden from the squads is not a reflection on his performances in the recent Test series but rather a strategic decision made by the national selection panel as we plan for these signature events.

"His possible selection for the upcoming tour of South Africa will be discussed as with all players when we select a squad after the round of interstate matches at the beginning of February."

The five-match one-day series against South Africa starts on Friday week at the MCG.

Twenty20 squad: Ricky Ponting (Tas, capt), Mike Hussey (WA, vice capt), David Hussey (Vic), Ben Hilfenhaus (Tas), James Hopes (Qld), Nathan Bracken (NSW), Brad Haddin (NSW), Shaun Marsh (WA), Shaun Tait (SA), David Warner (NSW), Ryan Harris (Qld), Cameron White (Vic), Nathan Hauritz (NSW).

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup