Text Edition
Top Stories

Australia win the toss and opt to bat

Australia won the toss and elected to bat in the one-off Twenty20 international against New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Gound on Sunday.

New Zealand captain, Daniel Vettori, sees this match as a trans-Tasman decider, after the rain ruined their chances in the deciding limited overs match on Friday, and Australia retained the Chappell-Hadlee trophy as a result of their winning it the previous time.

The Black Caps have handed Martin Guptill, Neil Broom, Grant Elliott and Ian Butler their Twenty20 debuts.

For the hosts, Callum Ferguson, Peter Siddle and Moises Henriques are making their Twenty20 debuts. This is Henriques' first game for his country.

Ricky Ponting has been rested for this game and Brad Haddin will therefore be stand-in captain today.

The home team holds a slight advantage in the smash-bang format, having won both previous encouters against the Kiwis.


Australia: Brad Haddin (capt & wk), David Warner, David Hussey, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Adam Voges, James Hopes, Cameron White, Nathan Bracken, Ben Hilfenhaus, Peter Siddle.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (wk), Martin Guptill, Peter Fulton, Neil Broom, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Ian Butler, Daniel Vettori (capt), Tim Southee, Iain O'Brien.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup