Text Edition
Top Stories

IPL opener sold out in just 2 hours

The IPL today announced that tickets for the Seasons inaugural double header on Saturday – April 18th 2009 between the Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers, in Cape Town sold out within hours of going on sale.

In fact, the site also reported that very few tickets were left for the next day’s double – header featuring the Delhi Daredevils v Kings XI Punjab and Deccan Chargers v Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday, April 19th ensuring that Season 2009 in South Africa got off to a successful start with sellout crowds at the Sahara Park Newlands in Cape Town.

Computicket – the online destination for ticket sales to Season 2009 also reported heavy ticket sales for DLF Indian Premier League’s tickets for Season 2009 in Durban, Pretoria and Johannesburg as fans rushed online to book their seats to watch their favourite international cricket stars do battle.

Commenting on the phenomenal fan response to ticket sales for Season 2009 in South Africa, Lalit Modi, Chairman and Commissioner, DLF Indian Premier League said, “I am extremely happy with the way ticket sales have progressed for the inaugural double – header weekend. A SELL OUT crowd at the Sahara Park Newlands would be a dream – start for Season 2009 and I would like to thank the fans for all their support."

"I hope fans all around the Rainbow Nation and from India continue to display their solidarity and acceptance of the DLF Indian Premier League in this manner. I look forward to an exciting season of cricket and entertainment in the days to come."

DLF Indian Premier League’s Season 2009 in South African Season will see the eight franchises play a league phase comprising a total of 56 matches to be played on 34 days at eight venues. The eight venues finalized for Season 2009 are Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Pretoria, East London, Port Elizabeth, Bloemfontein and Kimberley.

The league will also feature 22 days of action packed double-headers. The two semi-finals have been scheduled for May 22nd and 23rd at Pretoria and Johannesburg respectively, with the Grand Final schedule for May 24th at Johannesburg.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup