Text Edition
Top Stories

Chargers crush under performing Riders

Deccan Chargers beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets to win the fourth match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at Newlands in Cape Town on Sunday.

RP Singh was adjudged the Man of the Match for taking 4 wickets. Riding on unbeaten knocks by Herschelle Gibbs and Rohit Sharma, Deccan Chargers chased down the victory target of 102 runs in just 13.1 overs.

Gibbs's knock of 43 came off 26 deliveries and was studded with 5 fours and a six, while Rohit hit 2 sixes and 3 fours in his 36-run knock that came off 32 deliveries.

Deccan Chargers lost captain Adam Gilchrist and former captain VVS Laxman in quick succession but with an unbeaten partnership of 69 runs, Gibbs and Rohit thwarted the Riders' plan of a fightback by taking some easy singles and punishing the bad balls.

Ashok Dinda got his team the first breakthrough when Gilchrist edged high up in the air for Moises Henriques takes a well judged catch at square leg. The former Aussie opener hit 2 fours in his 13-run knock off 11 balls.

Laxman hit a splendid six off Ishant Sharma over the mid-wicket fence and followed it with a sweetly timed boundary through the covers but then got run out needlessly.

Laxman (10) tapped to backward point and went for a single, was sent back by Herschelle Gibbs, but was too slow to turn around and beat the throw from Laxmi Ratan Shukla into the hands of Brendon McCullum to run out the Hyderabadi.

The fall of these two wickets in quick succession gave the Riders some hope of a fightback but Gibbs and Rohit Sharma have so far thwarted their plans by taking some easy singles and punishing the bad balls.

Earlier, Kolkata Knight Riders were bowled out for 101 runs in 19.4 overs.

RP Singh took the bowling honours finishing with figures of 4/22, ably supported by Pragyan Ojha and Scott Styris who took 2 wickets each.

The end of the Kolkata Knight Riders' innings came when Ashok Dinda (2) was clean bowled by a yorker from RP Singh, who two deliveries earlier castled the stumps of Ishant Sharma (9).

Ojha took his two wickets in identical fashion. Both Aakash Chopra (11) and Laxmi Ratan Shukla (8) charged down the pitch to a flighted delivery, but the ball turned away and Adam Gilchrist completed the stumping.

Styris got his two wickets in the same over. Brad Hodge cut to backward point for local lad Herschelle Gibbs to take the catch. Hodge top scored for his team with a 31-run knock off 34 deliveries with the help of 4 fours.

Styris' second wicket came when Moises Henriques (6) hit to the covers where Rohit Sharma dived to his left to take the catch.

In the next over, Ajit Agarkar tapped to the covers and went for a quick single, Rohit dived to his right, grabbed the ball and made a direct hit to run out Agarkar (7).

Kolkata Knight Riders were reeling at 31/3 in 10 overs.

Kolkata Knight Riders lost Sourav Ganguly as their third wicket with only 16 runs on the board when the former captain gave himself room, reached out for a wide delivery from Harmeet Singh and edged to first slip for VVS Laxman to take the catch.

Ganguly looked clueless throughout his stay at the crease and was all at sea specially against the seam and swing of Fidel Edwards, who tested him to the full in his second over that was a maiden.

West Indian captain Chris Gayle smashed a huge six and a four in his 10-run knock and was looking ominous till he looked to play across the line to a RP Singh delivery and edged it to long off for Harmeet Singh to take the catch.

Kolkata Knight Riders got off to a poor start with RP Singh striking with the first ball, having Brendon McCullum (1) caught behind down the leg side by his captain Adam Gilchrist.

Earlier, McCullum won the toss and elected to bat first in the match that was delayed due to a problem with the floodlights in the stadium.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup