Text Edition
Top Stories

Bangalore win the toss but lose early wickets

The Bangalore Royal Challengers kept their fingers crossed, mainly for Jesse Ryder, hoping he does not get out for a duck this time.

Their prayers did help the team when the Kiwi hit a startling boundary on third ball, thus, giving signals of a good match for the Royal Challengers.

However, little did they know that it would their other opener, Robin Uthappa’s turn to return back without scoring a run.

Uthappa stretched miles away from his body to hit an Irfan Pathan delivery that was way outside the off stump. Yuvraj Singh made no mistakes at the 1st slip as the ball went straight to his hands, leaving Bangalore one down for mere 6 runs in the second over itself.

Understanding the intensity of the moment, Ryder took charge of his team’s batting line up immediately and went on to hit some spectacular shots.

The day did not start on a good note for Kings XI Punjab as Bangalore Royal Challengers skipper, Kevin Pietersen won the toss and decided to set the target first for their opponents.

Kings XI Punjab captain Yuvraj Singh, who had come for the toss with team owner Preity Zinta, clearly seemed disappointed after losing the toss as he walked away without shaking a hand with Pietersen.

Pietersen kept on staring at Yuvraj for, what it seemed, a lifetime until the latter realised to come back to share a courteous word.

The Kingsmead pitch, which produced over 350 runs on Thursday in the match between Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super Kings, exhibited conditions that supported the batsman more, especially with the sun coming out. Thus, no doubt, winning the toss would have acted in favour of the Punjab team.

The previous matches showed that those who have batting depth and power could post good totals, while those who didn`t, struggled.

Bangalore Royal Challengers squad: Jesse Ryder, Robin Uthappa (w), Jacques Kallis, Kevin Pietersen (c), Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Vinay Kumar, Ross Taylor, Pravin Kumar, Anil Kumble, Pankaj Singh.

Kings XI Punjab squad: Ravinder Bopara, Karan Goel, Yuvraj Singh (c), Kumar Sangakkara (w), Mahela Jayawardene, Irfan Pathan, Wilkin Mota, Piyush Chawla, Vikram RV Singh, Ranadeb Bose, Yusuf Abdullah.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup