Text Edition
Top Stories

Indians ease to victory over Knight Riders

Zaheer Khan took 3 wickets as the Mumbai Indians cruised to victory over the Kolkata Knight Riders by 9 runs at Buffalo Park in East London.

Chasing a victory target of 149 runs, Kolkata managed 139/6 in their 20 overs, as Zaheer finished with 3/31.

Jean Paul Duminy was adjudged the Man of the Match for his unbeaten 52.

Brad Hodge top scored for Kolkata with a magnificent 60-ball 73 that was studded with 3 sixes and 5 fours and till he was present at the crease, victory looked realistic for Kolkata. Hodge added 89 runs for the third wicket with Morne van Wyk, who hit 3 fours in his 32-run knock that came off 35 balls.

Hodge was run out by a good throw from the deep by Duminy while van Wyk hit a Graham Napier delivery to long-on where Duminy dived forward to take the catch.

Kolkata Knight Riders were 60/2 in 10 overs.

Ganguly registered a golden duck by edging a delivery that was away from his body onto his stumps. There was no foot movement from the former captain as the ball flattened the middle stump after taking an inside edge.

In Zaheer's next over, Gayle (7) tried to pull but edged the slower ball onto his stumps. This is the last match in this IPL for Gayle as after this he will be heading to England for a Test series.

Earlier, Jean Paul Duminy slammed an unbeaten half-century to take Mumbai Indians to 148/6 in 20 overs.

Duminy top scored for Mumbai with an unbeaten 52 that came off 37 deliveries and was studded with 4 sixes and a four.

It was largely due to Duminy's knock that Mumbai finished with a respectable total as none of the other middle order batsmen could convert their starts into substantial scores.

Abhishek Nayar scored 10 before he was clean bowled by Brad Hodge, Graham Napier scored 15 before mistiming a pull to mid-wicket for Kolkata captain Brendon McCullum to take the catch off Chris Gayle and Ajinkya Rahane (10) scooped an Ishant Sharma delivery to short fine leg for Gayle to take the catch.

Mumbai Indians were 61/3 in 10 overs.

Batting first after winning the toos, Mumbai got off to a bad start as Ashok Dinda had Sanath Jayasuriya caught behind in the fourth over. Jayasuriya (6) charged down the pitch and made room to hit over the covers but edged to keeper Morne van Wyk for the catch.

Harbhajan Singh was sent in at number three, but Murali Kartik struck in his first over as he had Harbhajan (6) caught at deep mid-wicket by Ashok Dinda.

Mumbai captain Sachin Tendulkar hit 2 sixes and 3 fours in his 30-ball 34 before hitting a low full toss to short extra cover for his Kolkata counterpart Brendon McCullum to take the catch.

Mumabi have rested Dwayne Bravo and in comes Graham Napier and Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped for Ajinkya Rahane. Kolkata have not changed their playing XI from the last match.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup