Text Edition
Top Stories

Duminy guides Indians to easy victory

A brillant knock of 59 by JP Duminy was enough for the Mumbai Indians to claim an easy 16 run victory over the Bangalore Royal Challengers at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth.

Chasing a victory target of 158 runs, Bangalore managed 141/7 in their 20 overs as Harbhajan Singh took 2 wickets and Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Jean Paul Duminy was adjudged the Man of the Match for his unbeaten half-century.

Mark Boucher top scored for Bangalore with an unbeaten 48 that came off 33 balls and was studded with 2 sixes and a four.

Bangalore were 58/4 in 10 overs.

Bangalore lost their first wicket when Dwayne Bravo struck in his first over as Jacques Kallis (12) cut to third man for Dhawal Kulkarni to take the catch.

In the next over, Robin Uthappa (4) hit a Kulkarni delivery from outside off-stump to short mid-wicket for Sachin Tendulkar to take the catch.

Soon after, Chetanya Nanda struck in his first over by having Virat Kohli (20) caught at short mid-wicket by Jean Paul Duminy.

In the last over before the strategic timeout, Rahul Dravid (11) was run out, failing to beat the throw by Lasith Malinga from long-off into the hands of Harbhajan Singh.

Earlier, riding on unbeaten half-centuries by Ajinkya Rahane and Jean Paul Duminy, Mumbai Indians scored 157/2 in 20 overs.

Coming together at the crease with Mumbai in a spot of bother at 53/2, Rahane and Duminy put up an unbeaten 104-run partnership to take Mumbai to a respectable total.

Rahane hit his maiden IPL fifty enroute top scoring for Mumbai with an unbeaten 62-run knock that came off 49 balls and was studded with a six and 4 fours.

Continuing with his good form, Duminy hit his fourth IPL fifty while hitting 3 sixes and 2 fours in his 41-ball 59.

Batting first after winning the toss, Mumbai got off to a bad start losing captain Sachin Tendulkar for a duck in the second over of the match. R Vinay Kumar struck in his first over as Tendulkar edged a leg cutter for wicket keeper Mark Boucher to take the catch.

Sanath Jaysuriya hit 4 fours in his 27-ball 29 before he was trapped plumb in front of the wicket by Roelof van der Merwe in his first over.

Mumbai have brought in Sanath Jayasuriya for Luke Ronchi and Chetanya Nanda replaces Rohan Raje. Bangalore have brought in Ross Taylor for Dillon du Preez and KP Appanna and Abhmanyu Mithun in place of Wasim Jaffer and Praveen Kumar.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup