Text Edition
Top Stories

Hodge breaks Super Kings hearts

Bradge Hodge scored an unbeaten 71 to lead the Kolkata Knight Riders to a suprising 7 wicket victory over the Chennai Super Kings at Centurion Park .

Kolkata achieved the victory target on the last ball of the last over to register their first win after eight consecutive defeats.

Captain Brendon McCullum led from the front with a swashbuckling 48-ball 81 that was studded with 3 sixes and 11 fours. Brad Hodge remained not out on a 44-ball 71 with the help of 4 sixes and 4 fours. Wriddhiman Saha hit a six and 2 fours in his 13-ball 25 and knocked the winning runs for Kolkata.

McCullum slammed his half-century off just 21 balls, the joint second fastest 50 in this IPL. McCullum hit four consecutive fours and a six in one over by Sudeep Tyagi.

McCullum's swashbuckling knock overshadowed the loss of Sourav Ganguly who was clean bowled by Muttiah Muralitharan for 4.

Earlier, quickfire knocks by Suresh Raina and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni propelled Chennai Super Kings to 188/3 in 20 overs.

Raina hit his fifth IPL fifty enroute a 37-ball 52 that was studded with 3 sixes and 3 fours, while Dhoni remained unbeaten after a 40-run knock that came off 28 balls with the help of a six and 4 fours.

Albie Morkel hit 2 sixes and a four in his unbeaten 10-ball 21.

Ajit Agarkar and Ajantha Mendis were the most expensive bowlers for Kolkata conceding 45 and 38 runs respectively from their 4 overs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Chennai got off to a good start with openers Parthiv Patel and George Bailey scoring 59 runs in 6 overs.

Patel hit 4 fours in his 19-ball 25 before he was run out by a direct hit by Laxmi Ratan Shukla from short fine leg.

Bailey, playing this match in place of an unfit Matthew Hayden, hit 4 fours in his 30-run knock that came off 26 balls before he too was run out by a direct hit by Shukla from short third man.

Kolkata have brought in Ashok Dinda, Ajantha Mendis, Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Anureet Singh in place of Ishant Sharma, Shoaib Shaikh, Yashpal Singh and Mashrafe Mortaza.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup