Text Edition
Top Stories

Bangalore win the toss and elect to field

Bangalore Royal Challengers captain Anil Kumble won the toss and chose to bowl against Deccan Chargers in the final of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on Sunday.

Both Bangalore and Deccan have retained the same playing eleven from the semi-finals.

The finalists are last year's bottom-placed teams.

Deccan, who finished rock bottom in 2008, have been enforcers from the start in IPL-2, looking a reformed outfit with Adam Gilchrist leading from the front. They seemed a little lost midway but their power-packed signings have won them the crucial moments.

Bangalore, seventh last year with their much-derided 'Test team', benefited from a change of guard midway.

With more or less the same team as last year, they have snubbed critics this time by rallying around Anil Kumble and scripting a remarkable tunraround in the late stages. They have relied less on individual heroics and instead found juniors and Test stalwarts rising equally to the occasion.

While Gilchrist single-handedly blew away Delhi Daredevils on Friday to take Deccan to the final, Bangalore's skillful run chase took them past Chennai Super Kings in the second semi-final on Saturday night.


Bangalore Royal Challengers: Anil Kumble (Capt.), Manish Pandey, Jacques Kallis, Roelof van der Merwe, Rahul Dravid, Ross Taylor, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Mark Boucher, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar.

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Capt.), Herschelle Gibbs, Tirumalsetti Suman, Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao, Azhar Bilakhia, Ryan Harris, Pragyan Ojha, Harmeet Singh, RP Singh.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup