Text Edition
Top Stories

Draw made for Champions League

Detail of this years T20 Champions League were announced today along with the match schedule for the tournament, which will be played in New Delhi, Hyderabad and Bengaluru.

The inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will see 12 domestic teams compete for the ultimate accolade; Twenty20s best of the best.

The 12 teams will initially be divided into four groups of three teams each. The initial groupings for the 2009 Champions League Twenty20 are as follows:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Deccan Chargers NSW Blues Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Daredevils
Trinidad & Tobago Diamond Eagles Cape Cobras Victorian Bushrangers
England (TBA) England (TBA) Otago Volts

The Champions League Twenty20 will kick-off in Bengaluru on October 8, 2009, with the Royal Challengers Bangalore (India) taking on the Cape Cobras (South Africa) at 8pm at the N. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The initial group matches will be played from Thursday, October 8, to Wednesday, October 14, 2009 across the three venues.

After the teams play their respective group opponents in the first round, two teams from each group will qualify for the second League Phase. The eight teams progressing to the League Phase will then be clubbed into two new groups and compete in another consolidated round robin phase, with the top four teams from this phase progressing to the semi-finals.

The two semi finals will be played on Wednesday, October 21, in New Delhi and Thursday, October 22, in Hyderabad respectively. The Grand Final will then be held in Hyderabad on Friday, October 23.

The inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will therefore involve a total of 23 matches spread over 16 days.

Speaking on the occasion, Lalit Modi, Chairman, Champions League Twenty20, said, "The Champions League Twenty20 is the perfect tournament to crown the best-of-the-best in domestic Twenty20 cricket worldwide and will capture the imagination of the sporting public around the world."

"It is set to provide domestic cricketers with the ultimate talent showcase, one which I am certain will inspire and motivate future generations of club, state and county cricketers, while accelerating the development of the game globally and the careers of those involved.

The 2009 Champions League Twenty20 will offer teams US$6 million in prize money, more than any other competition in world cricket. The prize money will be shared between the teams and their players.

The CLT20 Governing Council, comprising Lalit Modi, N. Srinivasan, James Sutherland, Niranjan Shah, Dean Kino and Gerald Majola, together with its founding members believes that the significant prize money to be shared by teams and players will ensure that the benefits of the event will foster cricket's development by injecting new funding into domestic cricket and at the same time will handsomely reward domestic cricketers and provide them with a unique opportunity for raising their profile on the highest public stage.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup