Text Edition
Top Stories

Blues eliminated after Big Bash defeat

The SpeedBlitz Blues reign as KFC Big Bash champions is over after they were defeated by the Queensland Bulls in a rain effected game at the Olympic stadium in Sydney losing by 54 runs.

Heavy rain at the start of the game delayed the start and saw both side face 9 overs in game where the loser would be eliminated from the race for the second spot in the Big Bash final against the West End Redbacks.

The Blues were set a target of 111 and their reply got off to the worst possible start as big hitting Philip Hughes was caught by Daniel Vettori off the bowling of Nathan Rimmington with out scoring.

Opening partner David Warner soon followed for 9 after being caught by Craig Philipson to hand Rimmington his second wicket of the night. With Dwayne Smith and Moises Henriques the Blues were 9-2 with 8 overs still remaining.

With a crowd of almost 30,000 watching on nobody expected what happened next as the Blues totally collapsed losing five wickets in the space of 3 overs to leave them 21-7 and on the verge of losing their crown.

Smith (0), Henriques (3), Steven Smith (3), Phil Jaques (4) and Ben Rohrer (0) all failed with the bat as Vettori, Andrew Symonds and Ryan Harris all picked up wickets.

Dominic Thornely and Daniel Smith were left to bat at the overs as the Blues finished 56-7.

Earlier, batting first after winning the toss earlier before the rain fell the Bulls set the Blues 111 to win with both sides knowing the loser would be out of the running for a place in the Big Bash Final.

James Hopes and Chris Simpson got the Bulls of to a good start smashing 13 runs off the first over before Hopes was caught by Dominic Thornely off the bowling of Grant Lambert for just five.

Simpson was joined at the crease by Andrew Symonds and the pair put together a partnership of 37 before Simpson was bowled by Mitchell Starc for 34.

With only 5 overs remaining Symonds and new partner Lee Carseldine smashed the Bulls to a good total of 110 to put the pressure on the defending Big Bash champs.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup