Text Edition
Top Stories

Akmal axed from Twenty20's after poor tour

Kamran Akmal has paid the price for having a disappointing tour with the gloves in Australia after being dropped from Pakistan's Twenty20 squad which will face England in Dubai next week.

Akmal was widely criticised after he dropped a number of catches during the recent tour of Australia which saw the Pakistanis lose all nine games during a horrid summer down under.

Akmal, who was part of Pakistan's Twenty20 World Cup winning team will be replaced by Sarfraz Ahmed although the Pakistan Cricket Board maintain Akmal is only being rested.

Pakistan will be skippered by Shoaib Malik in the first Twenty20 clash against England while Shahid Afridi completes his two game ban for ball tampering. Afridi has been named in the squad and will return for the second game.

It was also confirmed that Afridi will captain Pakistan during the Twenty20 World Cup in the West Indies despite being found guilty of ball tampering in Australia.

Pakistan Squad - Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Khalid Latif, Umer Akmal, Shoaib Malik (captain), Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Sarfraz Ahmad, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Arafat, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Talha.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup