Text Edition
Top Stories

IPL announce squad details for IPL 3.0

The IPL have released details of the initial playing squads for the eight franchises which will take part in this years Indian Premier League which starts in March.

According to the IPL regulations, each franchise has selected a playing squad of up to 23 players from its list of registered players. The regulations allow franchises to bring registered players into the 23 man squad at any time, as long as they give a 48 hours notice prior to a match.

As a result, some IPL franchisees have chosen not to name their international players with FTP commitments in the initial playing squad, prime examples of which are players like Rajasthan Royals' Shane Watson and Kolkata Knight Riders new pacer Shane Bond.

When these players do become available, their respective franchises will be able to add them to the playing squad by replacing players currently listed in the squad.

In addition to the players taken in last month's auction, the IPL franchises have signed a number of Indian cricketers who played in the rebel Indian Cricket League who have benefited from the BCCI amnesty.

The players joining the IPL from the ICL include Reetinder Singh Sodhi, S Sriram, Hemang Badani, Rohan Gavaskar, Ambati Rayudu and Shalabh Srivastava.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup