Text Edition
Top Stories

Chargers aiming to repeat African success

The Deccan Chargers go into this years Indian Premier League as the team to beat after upsetting the odds by winning last years IPL crown in South Africa.

The Chargers suffered a woeful inaugural season in 2008 winning just two games. They ended the tournament in last place and despite wholesale changes the prospects of improvements seemed very small in 2009.

Lead by new captain Adam Gilchrist who was given complete control of the team the Chargers suspired everybody by winning the 2009 Indian Premier League despite sneaking into the semi finals by virtue of a better run rate then that of the Mumbai Indians.

Gilchrist returns as captain in 2010 and will lead a dangerous batting attack which includes Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds and VS Laxman although the top order is prone to collapsing and can rely heavily on Gilchrist’s contributions.

Although the Chargers pride themselves on a strong batting line up their real strengths are in their bowling attack with player like Ryan Harris and Kemar Roach able to pick up key wickets to change the course of the game.

Fast bowler Roach was signed by the Chargers during January’s player auction for $720,000 beating off stiff competition from the Chennai Super Kings for the one of the most sought after players in the auction.

Although Harris will be away on international duty for Australia during the early stages of the group games Roach will be supported by RP Singh who won the Purple Cap in 2009 taking 23 wickets, Chaminda Vaas and spinner Pragyan Ojha.

After enjoying so much success last year the Chargers will considered anything less then a semi final spot a failure and with the same balanced team as last year they will be one of the teams to beat.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup