Text Edition
Top Stories

Venues for Champions League announced

The Twenty20 Champions League Governing Council has announced the four venues for this Septembers tournament which takes place in South Africa.

The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, St. Georges Park in Port Elizabeth, Kingsmead Stadium in Durban and Centurion Park in Centurion will be the four host venues for the competition, which gets under way on Friday, September 10th 2010.

Twenty20 Champions League Chairman, Shashank Manohar, said: "South Africa is widely regarded as a top international host nation, having successfully hosted most major international cricket events in recent years. The Governing Council is satisfied with the four venues that Cricket South Africa (CSA) have recommended."

"We are excited about the future of CLT20, and call on the South African public to come out and support the second edition of this tournament, which features the best of the best," he added.

CSA CEO, Gerald Majola, said: "CSA is proud to be hosting CLT20 in what is an iconic year for South Africa with the Soccer World Cup currently being hosted here. We are encouraged by the eagerness of the four host venues to make this tournament a success."

"CLT20 has already piqued the interest of South African fans, especially with the Lions and Warriors having qualified for this prestigious event. We are confident of hosting a successful CLT20."

The 2010 Twenty20 Champions League will feature teams from India, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies, and will once again showcase a host of world cricket’s biggest names – Tendulkar, Dhoni, Jayawardene, Steyn, Dravid, Tait, Duminy, Mendis, Kumble, Hayden, Taylor, Muralidaran, Pollard, Harbhajan, Oram, Malinga, Bollinger, Bravo, Afridi, Hussey, Jayasuriya, Bollinger.

More than 75 percent of the participating players are expected to be the international stars of the game, making the tournament a true contest between the best of the best.

Nine teams have been confirmed, and only one place remains to be filled, with the West Indies’ representative to be confirmed in late July. Trinidad & Tobago represented the Caribbean in 2009 and set the tournament alight with its brilliant run through to the final.

The 2010 Airtel Champions League Twenty20 will feature 23 matches (the same number as 2009), with the tournament format and match schedule to be decided at the next CLT20 Governing Council meeting on June 28 in Singapore.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup