Text Edition
Top Stories

Four players join exclusive IPL millionaires club

The first day of the IPL players auction lived up to the hype as Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma and Robin Uthappa became the first players in the history of the league to top the $2 million mark.

Gambhir ended the day as the most expensive signing after the Kolkata Knights Riders paid $2.4 million to secure the Indian internationalís services for the next two years.

The Knight Riders broke the bank once again to sign Yusuf Pathan for $2.4 million while the Pune Warriors paid the same price to secure Robin Uthappa.

The final player to join the exclusive club was Sharma who was brought by the Mumbai Indians for $2 million in the first round.

While many of the teams took the opportunity to rebuild their squads the Chennai Super Kings bucked the trend by signing as many of their championship winning team as possible.

"We worked three years with this set of players and our hard work paid off when we won the IPL and Champions League last year. So our main focus was to retain our players, though we had a few options like Dirk Nannes for Doug Bollinger," said Chennai Super Kings Gurunath Meiyappan.

"The key player that we missed out on was Muralitharan, who was bought by Team Kochi," he added.

Player Country Bought by Franchise Price (in USD)
Gautam Gambhir India Kolkata Knight Riders $2.4 million
Tilakratne Dilshan Sri Lanka Royal Challengers Bangalore $650,000
Zaheer Khan India Royal Challengers Bangalore $900,000
Ross Taylor New Zealand Rajasthan Royals $100.000
Yusuf Pathan India Kolkata Knight Riders $2.1 million
Kevin Pietersen England Deccan Chargers $650,000
Mahela Jayawardane Sri Lanka Kochi $1.5 million
Yuvraj Singh India Pune Warriors $1.8 m
AB De Villiers South Africa Royal Challengers Bangalore $1.1 million
Cameron White Australia Deccan Chargers $1.1 million
Jacques Kallis South Africa Kolkata Knight Riders $1.2 million
Rohit Sharma India Mumbai Indians $2.0 million
Andrew Symonds Australia Mumbai Indians $850,000
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka Deccan Chargersa $700,000
Adam Gilchrist Australia Kings XI Punjab $900,000
Rahul Dravid India Rajasthan Royals $500,000
Greame Smith South Africa Pune Warriors $500,000
Robin Uthappa India Pune Warriors $2.1 million
Johan Botha South Africa Rajasthan Royals $950,000
VVS Laxman India Kochi $400,000
Daniel Vettori New Zealand Royal Challengers Bangalore $500,000
Brendon McCullum New Zealand Kochi $475,000
Sreesanth India Kochi $900,000
Irfan Pathan India Delhi Dardevils $1.9 million
RP Singh India Kochi $500,000
Michael Hussey Australia Chennai Super Kings $425,000
Sharun Marsh Australia Kolkata Knight Riders $400,000
JP Duminy South Africa Deccan Chargers $300,000
Shikhar Dhawan India Deccan Chargers $300,000
Saurabh Tiwary India Royal Challengers Bangalore $1.6 million
David Hussey Australia Kings XI Punjab $1.4 million
David Warner Australia Delhi Daredevils $750,000
Parthiv Patel India Kochi $290,000
Wriddhiman Saha India Chenai Super Kings $100,000
Dinesh Karthik India Kings XI Punjab $900,000
Naman Ojha India Delhi Daredevils $250,000
Brad Haddin Australia Kolkata Knight Riders $325,000
Tim Paine Australia Pune Warriors $260,000
David Jacobs South Africa Mumbai Indians $190,000
James Hopes Australia Delhi Daredevils $350,000
Ravindra Jadeja India Kochi $950,000
Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh Kolkata Knight Riders $425,000
Stuart Broad England Kings XI Punjab $400,000
Abhiskey Nayyar India Kings XI Punjab $800,000
Angelo Mathews Sri Lanka Pune Warriors $950,000
Dwayne Bravo West Indies Chenai Super Kings $200,000
Steven Smith Australia Kochi $200,000
James Franklin New Zealand Mumbai Indians $100,000
Ishant Sharma India Deccan Chargers $450,000
Praveen Kumar India Kings XI Punjab $800,000
Ashish Nehra India Pune Warriors $850,000
Bret Lee Australia Kolkata Knight Riders $400,000
Morne Morkel South Africa Delhi Daredevils $475,000
Dale Steyn South Africa Deccan Chargers $1.2 million
Ryan Harris Australia Kings XI Punjab $325,000
Dirk Nannes Australia Royal Challengers Bangalore $650,000
Doug Bollinger Australia Chennai Super Kings $700,000
Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka Kochi $1.1 million
Piyush Chawla India Kings XI Punjab $900,000
Ravichandran Ashwin India Chennai Super Kings $850,000
Pragyan Ojha India Deccan Chargers $500,000
Amit Mishra India Deccan Chargers $300,000
Nathan McCullum New Zealand Pune Warriors $100,000
Ramesh Powar India Kochi $180,000
Aaron Finch Australia Delhi Daredevils $300,000
Eoin Morgan England Kolkata Knight Riders $350,000
Brad Hodge Australia Kochi $425,000
Callum Ferguson Australia Pune Warriors $300,000
Manoj Tiwary India Kolkata Knight Riders $475,000
Cheteshwar Pujara India Royal Challengers Bangalore $700,000
Subramaniam Badrinath† India Chennai Super Kings $800,000
Paul Collingwood England Rajasthan Royals $250,000

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup