Text Edition
Top Stories

Harris fireworks light up the WACA

Daniel Harris was in scintillating form with the bat as he smashed 70 runs to help the West End Redbacks reach 202-8 against the Retravision Warriors at the WACA in Perth.

The opener smashed 9 fours and 3 sixes during a devastating innings which lasted just 34 deliveries as the Redbacks took control of the game early on.

Harris and opening partner Michael Klinger (35) got the visitors off to the perfect start with a trail blazing opening stand of 98 which was finally brought to an end by Brett Dorey in the 10th over.

The pair attacked the Warriors opening bowlers from the start dispatching Dorey and Aaron Heal with ease around the WACA as the runs started to flow.

With Harris teeing off; Klinger played the perfect supporting role dispatching Sajid Mahmood for a massive six at the end of the 4th over which sailed over long off to keep the pressure on the Warriors.

The Warriors had no answer to the onslaught as Harris completed his half century in just 25 balls; the 3rd fastest in this year’s Big Bash as the runs flowed with ease.

Despite finally breaking through to remove Klinger and then Harris; who was dismissed by Mahmood the Redbacks struck back thanks to Kieron Pollard.

The big hitting West Indian started off slowly but found his rhythm at the end of the 12th over as he dispatched Mahmood for three consecutive sixes as the Redbacks took control of the innings.

He continued his amazing onslaught as he raced to 50 from just 22 deliveries which equalled this years fastest Big Bash half century.

Pollards (55) innings was finally ended by Mick Lewis in the 18th over when the West Indian was caught by Shaun Marsh at short fine leg to leave the Redbacks 190-3.

With Pollard gone the Warriors took advantage by removing Tom Cooper (1), Daniel Christian (21), Graham Manou (1), Adil Rashid (0) and Aaron O’Brien (4) in quick succession to derail the Red Backs innings and restrict them to a total of 202-8.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup