Text Edition
Top Stories

Wade innings gives Bushrangers hope

Matthew Wade smashed a quick fire half century to help the DEC Bushrangers reach 144-4 against the West End Redbacks at the MCG in Melbourne.

Wade (52) came to the crease with the Bushrangers 66-3 but proceeded to smash a 31 ball half century which included 3 fours and 4 sixes to help the Bushrangers record a potential match winning score.

Having won the toss the Bushrangers decided to bat first but they struggle to get their innings under way with any sort of urgency as spinner Adil Rashid and Kane Richardson utilised the slow wicket to great effect.

The home side lost Ryan Carters early on after the 20 year old made a pedestrian 5 from 14 deliveries before he was bowled by Richardson at the end of the 4th.

Veteran Brad Hodge arrived at the crease and immediately dispatched Nathan Lyon for a boundary to become the first person to score 1000 runs in the KFC t20 Big Bash tournament.

Despite the early lose Aaron Finch and Hodge brought the Vics back into the game with a 2nd wicket partnership of 44 runs before Finch (34) was caught by Callum Ferguson out on the long on boundary to give Daniel Christian his first wicket of the night.

Hodge (22) quickly followed two overs later to leave the Bushrangers 66-3 with just over 8 overs remaining in the innings as the pressure increased on the home side.

With the runs drying up Andrew McDonald and Matthew Wade built a 4th wicket partnership of 35 from 5 overs before Wade hit the accelerator dispatching Christian for consecutive sixes at the start of the 18th over.

McDonald (26) tried to follow suit but he could only pick out Ferguson out on the long on boundary two deliveries later as the pairs 48 run partnership was brought to an end by Christian to leave the Bushrangers 114-4.

Despite the loss of McDonald, Wade continued his assault scoring two more massive sixes on the way to completing a well deserved half century which helped the Bushrangers reach 144-4.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup