Text Edition
Top Stories

Redbacks face run chase of 154 to claim title

The West End Redbacks will face a run chase of 154 to claim this years KFC t20 Big Bash title after the SpeedBlitz Blues were restricted to a total of 153-8 at the Adelaide Oval.

With the runs flowing at the start of the innings the Blues threatened to run away with the game thanks to some aggressive batting from Daniel Smith and Moises Henriques but the Redbacks hit back to deny the visitors a big total.

Having won the toss the Blues got off to a solid start thanks to David Warner and Smith who shared an opening stand of 33 as the pair targeted spinner Adil Rashid who conceded 21 runs from his first two overs.

Warner (21) led the way with two fours and a massive six before his innings was brought to an end when he was bowled by Kane Richardson in the 4th over much to the relief of the home fans who were happy to see the back of the Blues big hitting opener.

Phil Jaques (6) quickly followed; but despite the lose the Smith and Henriques continued to pressure the Redbacks bowlers with Nathan Lyon being the most expensive conceding 18 runs in the 10th over as the Blues reach 82-2 at the half way point.

The pair added 56 runs during a rapid 3rd wicket partnership for the visitors before Smith (43) was trapped LBW by Daniel Christian at the end of the 13th over.

With Smith gone the Redbacks took control of the game removing Ben Rohrer (15) and Dominic Thornely (0) in quick succession to leave the Blues 131-5 with just over 3 overs remaining.

With wickets starting to fall around him Henriques (41) tried to readdress the balance but his efforts were halted when his off stump bail was removed by a delivery from Aaron O'Brien in the 18th over.

The late order collapse continued as Scott Coyte (8) and Patrick Cummins (2) offered little with the bat as the Blues lost their last 5 wickets in the space of 30 deliveries to leave the Redbacks chasing a below par total.

source -
Text Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup