Wireless Edition
Top Stories

West Indies recall Collins fopr World Cup

Trinidad and Tobago pacer Ravi Rampaul was named to the West Indies squad to represent the region in the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup scheduled for South Africa next month.

Yesterday, The West Indies selectors, led by chairman Gordon Greenidge, announced the 15-man squad for the international tournament.

The squad will also include two other T&T players-all-rounder Dwayne Bravo and wicketkeeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin.

After a near three-year hiatus made necessary because of injury, Rampaul returned to the international scene to tour England where he suited up for Tests, ODIs and Twenty 20 matches.

It was a relatively successful return for the pacer who made an impact in the bowling department for the regional side, helping the Windies to share the 20/20 series and win the ODI rubber.

He will be hoping to continue his good form in the Southern African country next month

The squad will also see the return of captain Ramnaresh Sarwan who missed part of the Test series against England last month and the whole of the one-day and Twenty20 series there due to a shoulder injury sustained during the opening Test series.

Left-arm seamer Pedro Collins has also been chosen for the September 11-24 event after having not played for the regional side since last year July. He has not played in a shorter version of the game since May 2005.

Guyanese batsman Narsingh Deonarine also makes a return to West Indies colours after two years out of the side.

West Indies Squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Devon Smith, Marlon Samuels, Runako Morton, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Smith, Ravi Rampaul, Daren Powell, Fidel Edwards, Narsingh Deonarine, Pedro Collins.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup