Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Vijay Mallya secures team for $111 million

Bollywood stars Shah Rukh Khan and Preity Zinta, industrialist Mukesh Ambani and liquor baron Vijay Mallya emerged successful bidders for Indian Premier League teams on Thursday.

Shah Rukh won the bid for the Kolkata team while Zinta bagged the Chandigarh team.

Ambani will own the Mumbai team, Mallya the Bangalore team and GMR Holdings the team from Delhi.

Jaipur went to the Emerging Media group, Hyderabad to Deccan Chronicle and Chennai to India Cements [Get Quote].

The IPL Council, headed by Board of Control for Cricket in India vice-president Lalit Modi, met in Mumbai on Thursday afternoon and decided on the eight Mumbai-based franchisee teams that will take part in the forthcoming Indian Premier League.

The following are the bid amounts:

Vijay Mallya - US $111.6 million, for the Bangalore team.

Shah Rukh Khan - US $75.09 million, for the Kolkata team.

GMR Holdings - US $84 million, for the Delhi team.

Mukesh Ambani - US $111.9 million, for the Mumbai team.

India Cements - US $91 million, for the Chennai team.

Deccan Chronicle - US $107.01 million, for the Hyderabad team.

Emerging Media - US $67 million, for the Jaipur team.

Preity Zinta - US $76, for the Mohali team.

**** Breaking News ****
Click here for all the latest IPL franchise news
**** Breaking News ****

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup