Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Warne wins toss and elects to bowl

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and invited Deccan Chargers to bat first in the ninth match of the Indian Premier League in Hyderabad. Graeme Smith is now back for the Rajasthan outfit.

The Chargers had received a drubbing at the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders in their first match on April 20, which captain VVS Laxman blamed on poor pitch and a power snag at the Eden Gardens. Other stars in the team like Gilchrist, Symonds and Afridi are also likely to come under scrutiny over their performance.

Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals which had lost their first match against Delhi Daredevils on April 19, are on a high after their impressive win against Kings XI Punjab in their second match.

Watson scored a brisk 76 including five sixes in 49 balls against the Punjab team.

However, former Team India member Mohammad Kaif's form is a concern factor for captain and coach Shane Warne. Kaif fell cheaply in the last two matches scoring nine and five. He will have to fire to lighten the pressure on Watson and other youngsters.

Deccan Chargers: VVS Laxman (Captain), Sanjay Bangar, Halhadar Das (wk), H Gibbs, Scott Styris, Adam Gilchrist (wk), D Kalyankrishna, Pragyan Ojha, D Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Andrew Symonds, Chaminda Vaas, Venugopal Rao, P Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Warne (Captain), Aditya Angle, Swapnil Asnodkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Kaif, Kamran Akmal (wk), Sumit Khatri, Taruwar Kohli, Mahesh Rawat, AD Mascarenhas, Parag More, Morne Morkel, Pankaj Singh, Munaf Patel, Niraj Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Anup Revandkar, Jaydev Shah, Graeme Smith, Sohail Tanvir, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson, Younis Khan, Dinesh Salunkhe.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup