Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Laxman invites Mumbai to bat first

Deccan Chargers won the toss and invited Mumbai Indians to bat first in their Indian Premier League encounter in Mumbai.

South African all-rounder Shaun Pollock was on Sunday named captain of Mumbai Indians following Harbhajan Singh's suspension from Indian Premier League matches for slapping pacer S Sreesanth.

While the hosts were already struggling to open their account after three matches in the Twenty20 extravaganza in the absence of regular captain Tendulkar, who is nursing a groin injury, Harbhajan Singh added to their agony as he allegedly slapped rival pacer S Sreesanth after immediately their match against Kings XI Punjab in Mohali on Friday night.

Harbhajan, who was the stand-in captain in the absence of Tendulkar, was temporarily suspended from IPL matches for slapping Sreesanth after Mumbai Indians had crashed to their third successive defeat in the Twenty20 league in Mohali on Friday.

Pollock, a former South African captain will lead the team till Sachin Tendulkar recovers from a groin injury.

With Deccan Chargers also not able to win a point still, both the teams would be eager to put it across one another and kick-start their tepid campaign under lights at cricket's state-of-the-art stadium in the satellite township of Navi Mumbai, just across the harbour.

Hyderabad are struggling to gel as a team with retired Australian great Adam Gilchrist yet to provide value for the huge amount of money invested in him by the team owners Deccan Chronicle.

Mumbai Indians: SR Tendulkar, LL Bosman, DJ Bravo, AA Chavan, SD Chitnis, G Dhiman, CRD Fernando, Harbhajan Singh, ST Jayasuriya, MA Khote, DS Kulkarni, AM Nayar, A Nehra, M Pandey, RV Pawar, SM Pollock, AG Prince, AM Rahane, RR Raje, L Ronchi, wicketkeeperP Shah, Swapnil Singh, wicketkeeperYV Takawale, DJ Thornely, SS Tiwary, RV Uthappa, VS Yeligati.

Deccan Chargers: VVS Laxman, SB Bangar, wicketkeeperH Das, HH Gibbs, wicketkeeperAC Gilchrist, D Kalyankrishna, PP Ojha, DB Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, RG Sharma, LPC Silva, RP Singh, SB Styris, A Symonds, WPUJC Vaas, Y Venugopal Rao, DP Vijaykumar, AS Yadav, DNT Zoysa.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup