Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Gilchrist opts to bowl against Mumbai

Deccan Chargers won the toss and invited Mumbai Indians to bat first in their Indian Premier League match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

After their easy win over Kolkata Knight Riders on Friday, Mumbai Indians are back in the reckoning for a semi-final spot and will have a chance to strengthen their claim when they take on Deccan Chargers.

Mumbai Indians, who were having a tough time before the return of Sachin Tendulkar, have now moved up to the third spot in the eight team league. A win against the troubled Deccan Chargers, whose chances of qualifying for the knock-out stage are virtually over, will help Mumbai Indians immensely.

Deccan Chargers captain VVS Laxman made a tactical decision by making himself unavailable for the rest of the season with an injury and in his absence Australian Adam Gilchrist has led the side well.

The Chargers will need something special to stop Mumbai Indians opener Sanath Jaysuriya. The Sri Lankan has been on fire and has been tearing bowling attacks apart.


Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya, Luke Ronchi, Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Shaun Pollock, Loots Bosman, Dominic Thornely, Manish Pandey, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Aniket Chavan, Siddharth Chitnis, Gaurav Dhiman, Dilhara Fernando, Musavir Khote, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rajesh Pawar, Saurabh Tiwary, Ashwell Prince, Rohan Raje, Pinal Shah, Swapnil Singh, Yogesh Takawale, Vikrant Yeligati.

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist, Sanjay Bangar, Halhadar Das, Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, D Kalyankrishna, Pragyan Ojha, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Venugopal Rao, Paidikalva Vijaykumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup