Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Sehwag elects to bowl against Mumbai

Delhi Daredevils won the toss and invited Mumbai Indians to bat first in their now-or-never Indian Premier League tie at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

The Daredevils found them at the receiving end of the weather god's vagaries in their home match against Kings XI Punjab. Skipper Virender Sehwag lit up the May 17 match with his batting pyrotechnics before heavens opened up and the hosts went down via Duckworth-Lewis method in the rain-truncated encounter. And it was worse on Thursday as their match with the Kolkata Knight Riders was washed away without a ball being bowl.

A win would swell Delhi's tally to 15 but the visitors can still pip them to the post if they win their last two matches. And a washout would mean Mumbai would need to win just one match to breeze into the semi-finals.

The visitors, however, don't lack firepower either. They woke up late in the tournament but once they got going, there was no stopping them.

Tendulkar and Jayasuriya walking out to open the innings is enough to send shivers down the spine of any attack and both are looking in good nick.

Their bowling, however, relies too much on Shaun Pollock, even though Ashish Nehra has been among the wickets as well. Nehra, in fact, would be keen to make a statement tomorrow when he bowls to some of his Ranji team-mates.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag, Rajat Bhatia, AB de Villiers, Shikhar Dhawan, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Glenn McGrath, Farveez Maharoof, V Yo Mahesh, Mithun Manhas, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Asif, Pradeep Sangwan, Shoaib Malik, Manoj Tiwary.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar, Siddharth Chitnis, Dilhara Fernando, Sanath Jayasuriya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Rajesh Pawar, Shaun Pollock, Rohan Raje, Pinal Shah, Dwayne Smith, Yogesh Takawale, Dominic Thornely, Saurabh Tiwary, Robin Uthappa, Vikrant Yeligati, Andre Nel.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup