Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Anderson axed for Stanford game

Graeme Swann replaced fast bowler James Anderson to give England two spinners against the Stanford Superstars in the richest match in cricket history on Saturday.

Steve Harmison and Stuart Broad as well as allrounder Andrew Flintoff will spearhead England's seam attack while Swann will support left-arm spinner Samit Patel in the team named on Friday for the $US20 million ($A29.73 million) winner-take-all Stanford Twenty Super Series finale.

Captain Kevin Pietersen will bat at No.3 behind openers Ian Bell and Matt Prior with Owais Shah, Flintoff and Paul Collingwood making up the middle order.

Patel, allrounder Luke Wright and Broad are also capable of big hitting in the lower order.

Anderson, a fixture in the one-day international team recently, joins allrounder Luke Wright, seamer Ryan Sidebottom and batsmen Ravi Bopara and Alastair Cook on the sidelines and out of the major payout.

The series is sponsored by American billionaire Allen Stanford.

Each of the winning 11 players will pocket $US1 million ($A1.49 million) while the non-playing members will share a further US$1 million and the team staff another US$1 million).

England have warmed up for the match by defeating English Twenty20 champion Middlesex by 12 runs and Caribbean champ Trinidad and Tobago by 1 run.

The Stanford Superstars are a West Indies all-star side led by Chris Gayle.

England: Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Kevin Pietersen (captain), Owais Shah, Andrew Flintoff, Paul Collingwood, Samit Patel, Luke Wright, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Steve Harmison.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup